You are His Son shine

I was at the 2019 COGOP ladies retreat in Macon Georgia just basking in God’s glory when God gave me a word through a stranger.

On the final day of the retreat, I was just about to enter the chapel when this Caucasian lady with a huge smile approached me and whispered these words to me, “you are His sunshine (measurably, that’s what I thought she meant).” At first I did not know how to accept the either compliment or reminder. However, I responded with a gracious smile and said, “to God be the glory my sister.” She repeated herself with tears in her eyes and told me that I was a blessing to her in our small group discussion. We hugged and then proceeded to enjoy the rest of the session, which was awesome.

My reason for sharing this experience with you is not to highlight me. But to highlight what the Lord showed me as I meditated on this lady’s compliment. Truth is, it’s not about me. At first I thought it was but the Holy spirit reminded me that I am actually God’s “Son shine.” Yes! That’s what I meant. I am His Son’s-shine. God wants me to radiate for His Son Jesus. He wants me to be His ambassador, and His sunbeam.

In the book of John, Jesus is called the true light, which gives light to everyone (John 1:9). Throughout the the Old New Testament, the followers of Jesus are called to be lights in the darkness. So, what does it mean to to be His Son shine?

To be God’s Son shine in this dark and barren world is to be like Jesus. Since Jesus was the sun light of this world. We are commanded to be so as well. According to David J. A. Clines, The metaphor of the sun can be seen in both a positive and a negative fashion. On the other hand, it is a source of blessing. As applied to plant growth, the sun is a source that stimulates growth for a well watered plant (Job 8:16-17). As Clines observes, “Being well watered allows it to flourish in the sun and take advantage of its warmth rather than be withered by it;” Clines goes on to suggest that the full imagery of the well watered, sun blessed plant here applied to the short lived success of the wicked (David J. A. Clines, 1988,p.162). In this devotion, it is proper to focus on the positive aspect of the sun which is a source of blessing. This focus is thus in harmony with Jesus’ words that God “causes the sun to rise on the righteous and on the unrighteous” (Matt. 5:45).

The book of Jeremiah likewise points out that the sunlight, which is essential for human life, was created and positioned by God (Jer. 31:35). It is one of God’s natural blessings for human beings.

Jesus gave each of God’s people the mantle to live on purpose for God.

One of the characteristics of living on purpose for God is to shine our light. We live in a selfish, fallen world; a world that is filled with deceptions, hate and confusion. However, God’s Word tells us to “cast off the works of darkness and put on the armor of light” (Romans 13:12). We are commanded to live on purpose. We are reminded to “put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the flesh, to gratify its desires” (Romans 13:14).

I am the first to say that it is not always easy to shine my light. There are times when I loose my way. There are times when I allow the flesh to dictate my decision. However, the Holy Spirit that lives in me convicts me when I do wrong. Do I go about feeling worthless? No! Transformation is a process that occurs over time. God is still transforming my life. We all stumble in our walk sometimes. But that’s why 1 John 1:9 is such a powerful promise. Psalms 37:24 puts it this way: “Though he stumble, he will not fall, for the LORD upholds him with his hand.” There is no reason why every believer cannot be a sunshine for God.

Jesus said, “Let your light shine before others” (Matthew 5:16a). He explained that no one lights a lamp just to hide it under a basket. It is okay to place yourself out there for others to see Christ. You may be the only Bible some people will read. Just make sure to direct others to the source of the light which is JESUS!

The lady at the weekend ladies retreat, wanted me to know that I am God’s Son(Jesus)shine. That resonated with me until this day. Every time I feel like saying something to someone that is not godly; every time I may even loose my way, I remember the lady’s words: “You are His Son shine.” I endeavor in my heart to be God’s “Son-shine” until He comes.

If you ever feel like dimming you light, or even hide it for a minute, just remember that somebody may need you to shine ! Hold on my sister. Hold on my brother. Keep shinning for the Lord.

Being a light sounds super spiritual and awesome, doesn’t it? But isn’t it a little abstract? Well, the Bible is our blueprint to guide us. Since we are sons and daughters of the light and sons and daughters of today, let us live on purpose with expectancy of that glorious day (1 Thess. 5:4-11.

My prayer is that we will all, “Do all things without grumbling or disputing, that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world, holding fast to the word of life, so that in the day of Christ I may be proud that I did not run in vain or labor in vain.” —Philippians 2:14-16, ESV. Thank you Lord for being our sunshine, then and now.

Please enjoy this song as you step out in victory. Shalom.

© Women on Purpose for God. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner, is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Women on Purpose for God. Cynthia Steven

Published by Women on Purpose For God

My name is Cynthia Steven. As a mother of four precious jewels, wife, minister of the gospel, friend of the Lord, worshiper, and an aspiring author. Life is a journey with a lot of signs, curves, and turns. We will have to face the reality that not everyone will understand your journey because your journey is unique. However, God understands every detail connected to the journey you are on right now. Guess how? God is your creator.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started